Compare
PayAppHub compared with other pay app software
Subcontractors make AIA-style pay applications a few different ways: a dedicated pay app tool, job management or accounting software, or the AIA forms and a spreadsheet. Here's how they stack up on price and on the features that matter when you bill every month.
Prices and features checked October 10, 2026 from each company's website or a published listing (sources below). Prices change, so confirm with the company.
Which one fits
Side by side
| PayAppHub | Siteline | PayAppPro | Knowify | AIA documents + Excel | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $39.99, $79.99 or $129.99 a month | Custom quote | Listed at $79, $129 and $249, plus a $7.99 single pay app¹ | From $99 a month billed yearly ($149 monthly), 1 user; more users $29 each | $59.99 per form, or $1,679.99 per user per year |
| Free trial | 30 days | Demo only | No | 14 days | None |
| Project limits | Unlimited on every plan | Not published | 15, 30 or 200 projects by plan¹ | Limited by plan; more projects cost more | One form per use |
| G702/G703-style pay apps | Yes | Yes, plus GCs' custom forms | Yes | Yes, including official AIA forms through a partnership | Official forms; you do the math |
| Retainage | Yes, including release at the end | Yes, by job, line or period | Yes | Takes extra manual work | By hand |
| Stored materials | Yes, with photos | Not stated | Yes | Yes | By hand |
| Change orders onto the schedule of values | Yes, and by forwarding the GC's email | Yes | Added to the schedule of values by hand | Yes | By hand |
| Lien waivers | Your GC's own form filled in on screen; printed to sign and notarize | Yes, including collecting your vendors' waivers, with AI checks | Conditional and unconditional PDFs with e-signature | Not stated | No |
| Reads your contract with AI | Yes, included in every plan | AI checks on vendor waivers | No | Not stated | No |
| Submits to GC portals (Textura, GCPay, Procore) | No; you bill inside the portal yourself | Yes | No | Not stated | No |
| Accounting connection | QuickBooks Online: invoices sent, payments marked paid | QuickBooks, Sage, Vista, Foundation and others | QuickBooks Online | QuickBooks Online | No |
¹ Prices from a third-party listing; check PayAppPro's site for current pricing. "Not stated" means we didn't find it on the company's site or listings; it may still be offered.
Where PayAppHub is different
- The price is on the page. $39.99, $79.99 or $129.99 a month, unlimited projects, free view-only users, and no setup fee.
- It reads your contract. Upload the subcontract and the contract amount, retainage, billing contact and schedule of values are filled in for you to check.
- Forward it by email. Forward an approved change order or a new contract to your company's address and confirm it on the job.
- Your GC's waiver, on screen. The GC's own lien waiver form is filled in next to the pay app, then printed with the backup in one PDF.
And where it isn't: PayAppHub doesn't bill inside GC portals like Textura or Procore (those have to be filled in on the portal), doesn't collect payments, and prints waivers for hand signing rather than e-signing.
Each option in more detail
Siteline
Siteline is built for commercial trade contractors, including large ones. It does things PayAppHub doesn't: it pushes pay apps into GC portals like Textura and GCPay, collects lien waivers from your own vendors and checks them with AI, tracks COIs and lien deadlines (an add-on), and connects to construction accounting systems beyond QuickBooks. Pricing isn't published; it's quoted based on usage, billing volume and integrations, with unlimited users, and there's no free trial, so you'll book a demo. If most of your jobs bill through GC portals and you have a billing department, it's worth a look.
Sources: Siteline pricing page, Siteline AIA billing, Siteline on Capterra
PayAppPro
PayAppPro is a focused pay app tool: G702/G703 pay apps, retainage, stored materials, lien waiver PDFs with e-signature, and QuickBooks Online sync. Change orders are added to the schedule of values by hand, and there's no AI contract reading, GC portal submission or free trial. A third-party listing shows plans at $79, $129 and $249 with caps on users (3, 5 or 15), projects (15, 30 or 200) and pay apps, and a $7.99 option for a single pay app. We couldn't confirm those prices on PayAppPro's own site, so check there for current pricing.
Sources: PayAppPro pricing (third-party listing), PayAppPro
Knowify
Knowify is job management software for contractors (estimates, purchase orders, time tracking and scheduling) with AIA-style billing built in, including stored materials and change orders. Retainage takes extra manual work, and the number of projects depends on the plan, so more projects cost more. It's a good fit if you want one system to run jobs, not just bill them. Plans start at $99 a month billed yearly ($149 monthly) with one user, extra users are $29 a month each, and there's a 14-day free trial.
Sources: Knowify AIA billing, Knowify pricing (third-party review), Knowify on Capterra
What about QuickBooks Online?
QuickBooks Online doesn't make AIA-style pay applications on its own. Its progress invoicing bills a percentage of an estimate, with no G702/G703 continuation sheet and no built-in retainage, so you need separate pay app software on top of your QuickBooks subscription. That's why it isn't in the table. (PayAppHub connects to QuickBooks Online: each pay app goes over as an invoice, and it's marked paid when the payment is recorded.)
Sources: Intuit: progress invoicing, QuickBooks Online prices, 2026
Foundation and Sage 100 Contractor
These are full construction accounting systems with AIA-style billing, retainage and change orders. They're quote-based (one listing shows Foundation starting around $400 a month) and make sense when you're choosing your whole accounting system, not just a way to bill.
Sources: Foundation (SoftwareConnect), Sage 100 Contractor review
AIA documents and Excel
You can buy the official forms from AIA Contract Documents at $59.99 per form, or $1,679.99 per user per year for unlimited documents, and do the math yourself. It works, but every month means retyping the schedule of values, carrying totals forward and checking retainage by hand.
Sources: AIA G702S, AIA annual subscription
What about GCPay, Textura and Procore?
These are payment portals your general contractor chooses. You don't pick them instead of a billing tool: you make the pay app, then enter it or upload it in the GC's portal.
- GCPay says it doesn't charge subcontractors, though one GC's guide says that depends on the GC. (BuiltWorlds)
- Oracle Textura lets the GC pass a usage fee to subcontractors: 0.22% of the contract value, up to $5,000, for projects created since January 19, 2023. (Oracle)
- Procore Pay fees may or may not apply to subcontractors depending on the GC; when they do, they're 0.2% of the payout, up to $4,000 per contract. (Procore)
With PayAppHub you build the pay app, waiver and backup once, download one PDF, and upload it to whichever portal the GC uses.
Try it on your next pay app
Every plan includes a 30-day free trial. Set up a job from your contract and send this month's pay app.
Spotted something out of date? Email support@payapphub.com and we'll correct it. Product names are trademarks of their owners. AIA is a trademark of the American Institute of Architects; PayAppHub is not affiliated with it or with the companies above.